h1

Do’s and Don’ts

June 5, 2007

If you haven’t read the list of do’s and don’ts for family and friends of bipolar folks at Bipolar Disorder Center, please take this opportunity to do so :-)  I think this list is pretty appropriate, and I would like to know if there are other ones out there, perhaps put together by people who are themselves bipolar – or was this list perhaps put together with bipolar involvement? As it is, I think this list is good enough that I’m going to add it to my growing list of resources on my sidebar.

5 comments

  1. I would imagine that this was put together with some bipolar involvement…I hadn’t seen this particular list until you linked to it here, but it is a damn good one! :-)


  2. Incidentally, have you seen the community over at BipolarConnect.com? You might want to get involved with that as well…a lot of good people over there; the dude who has the blog “Living With A Purple Dog” is one of the main contributors over there, and he’s a really good guy. :-)


  3. I’m glad I was able to link to something worthwhile, then! The ‘resources’ I link to are based on my own opinions of what seems to make sense to me – when someone else comes along, having been diagnosed with bipolar disorder years ago, and agrees that one or more of the ‘resources’ is a “…damn good one,” it makes me feel like I’m at least heading in the right direction. Thank you for that.

    I’ll take your suggestion about the bipolar community under consideration :-)


  4. I like your way of thinking: you’re a LOT like me, making up your list of links as you go along making your way through this forest of bipolar information (that’s what I did when I was putting my blog together, too, and I really enjoyed doing so). :-) You’re doing an excellent job in terms of coming up with resources, and I look forward to exploring where your mind takes you!

    Cheers,
    K.


  5. “I look forward to exploring where your mind takes you!”

    You must be quite the adventurous type, lol, because I’m not even sure I want to go there :-)

    With the links, kind of like we hit on in your blog, I would agree that there is a responsibility we as bloggers have when it comes to our list links. That’s one approach. The other approach is to create a simple link dump, to amass as many links as possible just for the sake of having them. If I want that, I can go to a search engine. When I go to someone else’s blog, I like to look at the things they like to look at – it’s a way for me to try to get to know who I’m reading a little better – and I try to keep that in mind when I’m setting up my links for my own blog.

    I think this is especially true for blogs or personal sites that deal with the subject matter our blogs deal with: people who might read over our writings should have access to the places where we’re pulling our perspectives from, to decide for themselves if they’d rather zig where we zagged.



Leave a Reply

