h1

Metaphysics

June 6, 2007

People who know me also know that I have a great love for going deep with my thoughts, and not surfacing for air for a few days at a time. I don’t know whether this is something I tend to do more often in the up-swings or down-swings of bipolar life, or perhaps it’s just one of the few things I enjoy doing at any phase in my life. I love to contemplate theoretical physics, metaphysics, logic, and the universe, wrapping my mind around the infinite, finite, and divine. I’m not a scientist – I never had the discipline to see an education through, beyond a two-year degree in computer technology – but I tell myself that, in my universe, not being a scientist is not a precluding limitation to pondering physics. After all, I’m not a god, and I ponder religion often enough :-)

With all of this considered, you might imagine that I was more than just delighted to stumble across this gem of a post from Bipolar Guy – dealing with topics of finite divisibility, co-existing universes and divine ratios – I was obligated to comment :-) This will, of course, profoundly affect how I look at things for the next days or weeks … it will probably mean that I drive my wife up the wall with my four hundred twenty-seventh rendition of how the universe we now live in is not the first, nor will it be the last, that we live in a recycled universe; along with my two hundred fifty-seventh rendition of how the classic cosmology of the Norse is a poetic description of different universes co-existing at different natural frequencies. While my poor wife won’t be thanking Bipolar Guy for this, I certainly will :-)

3 comments

  1. I think you’ll like this http://www.nikon.co.jp/main/eng/feelnikon/discovery/universcale/index_f.htm

    Although your wife probably won’t (if she didn’t like the thinking my post instigated) :)


  2. How awesome! I’m going to put a link to that somewhere – thank you for pointing me in that direction :-) And my wife won’t have much of a choice but to like it, since she’s a Nikon devotee :-D


  3. Interesting.. I find I also spend alot of time questioning Theories, Philosophies, and so called “facts”. So much so I believe much that we have been taught is flawed. But enough about that.. My biggest concern is “labeling”, ie, Bi-polar. I mean is it a disorder or just a uniqueness? Does one need medicating, or just understanding? Just seems like there’s two schools of thought here and not sure which is best followed….?



Leave a Reply

